Helen, Oscar and I

I went down to Bristol today to visit Helen who has been in a hospital there for a few days having tests.  I had been trying to arrange a visit for a few days but it hadn't actually worked out, so I was very pleased to see her and have time to chat and catch up with our lives.  It became even better when Helen's senior doctor appeared at about 6pm to say that she could go home there and then. Well, practically.  It did take about an hour to get that organised.

So despite having to go the 'long way round', via the centre of Bristol, because of a major hold-up on the M5, and torrential rain most of the way, we had a lovely journey together back to their home in a village west of Taunton.   On arrival we had a lovely greeting from her two sons, Oscar and Barnaby and from their Dad, Darren, who had a wonderful meal spread out on the table within minutes.

Helen and I have been very good friends now for about twenty-six years, as I realised a couple of days ago.  We have worked together in various ventures and at odd times despite having both moved away from the London media world to different parts of the west of England.   But we have always kept in contact and been able to share our various experiences throughout that time, including watching their boys growing into the shining stars they now are.

Helen must rest for a while, but I am glad she is home to be cared for and nurtured.  Helena and I will be in touch and I'm sure we will see them all again soon, despite being many miles away.

But before I left at 10pm last night, I quizzed Darren about camera equipment, while I had the chance.  He is a professional portrait photographer based in London and it turned out he also uses Canon gear.  So he showed me some flash accessories that I have been contemplating buying, so that I could see them.  Once he had set up the demo, it seemed obvious that we should take a couple of test shots, using the wireless transmitter.  I did take some pictures of Darren too, but it was agreed that we would all like a picture of Helen and I together, and Helena (Woodpeckers) has now chosen this one of the three Darren took, although I think I look a bit severe.  The bonus is that Oscar had sneaked into the picture without my knowing.   He is very like his Dad who also has a twinkle in his eye and an irrepressible humour!

Thank you Darren, and I am sure Helen is in good hands with you and the boys looking after her.  I do recommend that you have a look at Darren's work here on his website.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.