Droplet...

Apparently this week, Scotland is a nation that should be ashamed.

I don't usually get all that animated about politics but the whole story about the Lockerbie bomber getting released has gotten me right ryled up.

I personally am proud to be part of the nation that has played a part in the compassionate release of a man that has only a few months left of his life. If, and apparently there is doubt over it, he is guilty then he has to live with that information. That is probably a worse sentence than any incarceration could do to him. I do feel for the relatives of the victims but my logical mind says it will make no difference to the victims but could make a small bit of to the innocent family from whom he will be taken.

What was wrong and disgusting was the celebratory nature of his return to Libya but this had nothing to do with this country and I'm sure it was even advised by Gordon Brown to make it a low key event. To amount on that, every person that wants to add critisism to the pot is just stirring it, adding to this coverage and so far as I've seen, wafting the fire for their own means.

I know I'm not alone in this view and find it disturbing that opposition to the decision makers on this case are making moves in the name of 'public' opinion.

---------------------------------------------------------------

On an entirely different note, it's EcoDad's 365th today when he uploads it so pop across and give him a shout out. Well done Eco.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.