Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Can You See A Kingfisher?

Just in case you can't I've put an insert. I'm so bad at the view it large thing, I do keep trying to make it happen! Just go to the magnified view instead, if you wish!

Not my best kingfisher blip but, not my worst either!

Anyhow, the good thing was that The Mother was sat up on the fore-deck with me and, although she once saw a perched kingfisher, she had never before seen the fabulous blue flash as you see them flying. We followed it for ages.

The big shot is as it was seen through the lens. This holidays I've had two bodies with me! Yeah, a 400D and a 7D! I've had the 17-40mm on the 7D and the 55-250 on the 400D. What I am realising through blurred shots of herons is that, even when the bird is absolutely still, the vibrations of the engine cause camera shake. I have both cameras set up on high ISOs, one on a larger aperture for kingfisher spotting and one on f8 for landscapes. Saved me changing lenses all the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.