The View from L4

The ward nurse on IDA telephoned me this morning to say that they had moved the GOG to L4, a normal surgical ward for his condition; this is the ninth bed space he has occupied. He also telephoned me, using another patient’s telephone to tell me he wanted his clothes, his computer and his telephone. He had been refusing to have his mobile, but I think I have convinced him that it was the medication and not a real message, which he thought he had seen. The nurse who claims to also have seen the message, might, in my opinion, have told him it was the medication and not real, rather than agreeing with him that she also could see the message; we will never know for sure.

The food is as diabolical as the visiting hours and there was not much choice for him on his limited diet. He has telephoned me tonight to say he ate some mashed potato, but it was more lumps than anything else and the green beans were hard and cold! The soup tonight was not suitable and they said they did not have any tomato soup. I shall be making some home-made soup in the morning to take in for him as well as some tinned peaches for pudding. How they expect patients to get better when the food is so bad I do not know. Once he is home I will be making a complaint.

Although he is not in a window bed this time, he can now walk around the ward and look out of the window. This is the best view I could get and is looking left, if you look right you can just see the railway line and trains from Cambridge, these run past our house, but it was impossible to get a picture. Hopefully this will be his last move before he comes home.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.