A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Fungi forest

Our garden at the back is on two levels and whilst ironing I spotted a toadstool near the Magnolia tree. Out with the camera and off to investigate only to discover that the top lawn was a veritable forest of them!

They do seem to be prolific this year but I don't remember seeing quite so many in the garden before. I think we had frost by this time last year I don't know of that makes a difference, but I remember posting the little yellow ones amongst the frosted grass.
Chris thinks we get more on the top lawn because of oak tree roots below the lawn (the tree it self was cut down some years ago.)

Had we walked in the opposite direction yesterday to the St Ives estate instead of Goit Stock we would have been able to participate in a Fungi walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.