Camera-Shy

By shy

Bag 'o Rats

I think most of us have had one in the last 24 hours - a storm that is.

In the middle if the afternoon, I was looking out of the window in total awe of the biggest raindrops I've ever seen clattering to the earth at twice the speed of a high pressure hose. I remarked to a colleague that was really what I call "fat" rain (as opposed to the misty, drizzly stuff that looks harmless but seems to get you soaking wet in minutes). This colleague was 30 stone, and later, I did wonder whether I should have mentioned my rainfall observations.

Apart from a pond and a flightpath, we have a little fairy glade outside the office, and as I could hear vast volumes of run-off water gushing down what is normally a dry gulley, I went to take a look. This was done with more than a little trepidation, because twice a year, the pest controller goes in there with his poisons and his traps, and the following day always emerges wth a huge bag of dead rats.

The picture is a bit shaky due to the fact I was holding my trouser-legs tight to prevent my nuts from being attacked by rabid rodents. I've done what I can with it, but wanted to post it because I like the sense of urgency in the movement of the rain-water.

OK, I admit it, the others were cack and this was the best, and there is no way I'm going back in there to re-shoot.

BTW thank you sooo much for your wonderful comments yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.