Mikey88

By Mikey88

Goose Fair

This picture is a rarity - I don't take many people pictures, and even fewer which include lots of people.

This is Tavistock's Goose Fair, which happens on a Wednesday every October. The picture shows the main road into Tavistock. Both sides are taken up with stalls selling just about everything you can think of - but quite a lot of fast food and sweets. The main car park has turned into a fairground and the place is packed with people - they come in coaches from miles around, drive, and use the park and ride, as parking is severely restricted.

By tomorrow morning it will all be gone - apart from the fair in the car park, which stays all week.

A long time ago, I had a fairground family in my class at school. They appeared when the season finished, and their son in particlar had a hard time when he had to start school each year. I saw him tonight, grown up, articulate and confident. It was really nice to see. He even remembered me - hopefully with relatively good memories!

Apart from that, I began work on cutting back the buddleia today. I didn't manage to get it done last year, and the difference is noticeable. The garden will look a bit different when I've finished - I'll also be able to reach the other bushes to trim them back. It will look very strange until next spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.