Pearl earrings

By AliRH

Tate Great Britain

I went to the Tate today on a whim on my way back to Salisbury because there was a small exhibition I wanted to see about one of Emmeline Pankhurst's daughters who painted women at work, bringing attention to the fact that they were given menial jobs and paid less than half of what men were paid for the same occupation. She later turned her artistic skills to designing posters, programmes and badges women were given if they'd been in prison - a port cullis with a prison arrow in the centre, enamelled in white, purple and green - the WSPU colours.
There are so many parts of the world where I could not be who I am and have done the things I have done.
I suppose I'm a post- feminist; there are still inequalities, mainly relating to women but some too for men in the UK.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.