Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Conkered

It seems to be high season for conkers. As I mentioned on Wednesday, the high winds brought a bounty of the brown things down from the trees. I thought I amassed quite a haul that day, but it was nothing compared to the mountain assembled in the @yearofhappy household.

9yo has taken an early lead in our 2013 conkers tournament. He has perfected the art of passive resistance; watching my conkers bludgeon themselves to pieces on his more resilient seeds.

I've never quite resolved if the game of conkers is a worldwide phenomenon, or if it's restricted to the UK , Normandy* and vestiges of the Roman** Empire. Perhaps worldly blippers can enlighten me?


* A leading pastime in Normandy since the time of William the Conkerer.

** They came, they saw, they conkered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.