But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Tintin.

After taking the dogs for a walk and interrupting it to take photos of some fly agaric, Mrs TD went off on a girlie week-end leaving me to go to The Filmhouse to see "More Than Honey." It was an interesting film funded by the Co-op as part of their "Plan Bee" advertising campaign (they even gave everybody there a packet of wild flower seeds). There is a lot of that genre of film about with nearly all of them just recycling the same boring old stuff even down to using the same interviews with the same bee-farmers; this one had a lot of new and interesting material but they didn't change the basic message. The Co-op do seem to be doing a good job on the environmental front, it's just a pity that the shops of theirs that I know are so appallingly run and uninviting.

Afterwards, we (members of the beekeeping club) went to a nearby restaurant for a meal and, it was on my way back to the car that I came across this window display in a shop called "The Paper Tiger." Tintin was one series of stories that I read to TD Jnr some twenty-five years ago; they were not exactly politically correct and Hergé, the author, had to change some of the drawings and text to fit various markets. At about that time, TD Jnr acquired a little black puppy and I tried to persuade him that it would be a good idea to name it Snowy after Tintin's dog, but he was never going to fall for that. I was a little aggrieved because, when I was that age, The Old Lady gave me a white mouse and called it "Rastus," a name which would be rather frowned on today; by the time I realised that I had been duped, the name had grown roots and the poor creature was stuck with it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.