My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

Bikers

What seemed like hundreds of bikers drove past my flat this morning, so out came the camera. I like how the one at the back in this photo is clutching a teddy bear!

I've been thinking about appearances lately, and how they affect our interaction with people. I read a blog post the other day where a pastor and his wife went into some of the other churches in their city dressed very casually (e.g. baggy trousers and a baseball cap), and people didn't talk to them. Why do we make so many assumptions about people because of their appearance? Why does what someone looks or smells like make us more likely to include or exclude them? Loving all people really does mean loving ALL people, not just people we are perhaps more naturally drawn to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.