Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Red Squirrel. Petrified.

You have to work with me here. This church in Muthill dates from the 1820s (the old church was medieval) and was built with a square tower which to my eyes looks vaguely Norman. Didn't they have square towers? Anyway. Squirrels. For some reason (and from a distance) the church has always reminded me of a gigantic red squirrel, sitting upright, tufty ears and all. No? Maybe its just me :-) I was there today because I'd signed up to do one of the Drovers' Tryst walks. More about the tryst here.. It was a half day walk rambling through the countryside around Muthill in company with a medical herbalist. I learnt lots more about plant usage than I expected not least of which the number of things to which you can 'just add vodka' and let steep for a few months. I think this works on the hot toddy principle. It may not cure you but you'll certainly feel better! By the end of it there was much vodka related hilarity when someone asked what the herbal cure for alcohol poisoning was!! I took lots of pictures of plants as you would imagine but thought I'd have a go at explaining my squirrel theory instead :-)

PS. For those who are interested there are one or two more pics up on Tumblr which I'm trying out for a while here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.