Day Today

By Feathers14

Power Horse!

Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh.... Oh Uganthem Style

------------

TL;DR - Hangover, Power Horse and a big night out in Kampala.

------------

Yeah, today was a really long day, but I'm sure I'll cover most parts of it, eventually. I highly advise everyone to quit reading now and just look at the TL;DR.

Wake-up... DRANK! Ha, no. Just kidding. Kris was definitely feeling it from last night but I was okay. We filmed a hungover Power Horse video to add to the growing collection.

We cleared our tab at the hostel and walked back down to Lake Victoria with ALL of our stuff. We decided that the most productive use of our time left in Uganda was more shenanigans at the pool. We were right.

Opposite us at the pool was a group of Russians who must have been in their 40's/50's and had basically no fear (and a fair whack of alcohol in them, even at 10;30am). The sun was ferocious and I would ultimately end up burnt on my shoulders which when you're trying to carry a ruck sack, and back pack and camera case isn't exactly the best idea...

We ballsed around for ages taking some more shameless selfies. There's no shame in a GoPro selfie!

What I didn't mention yesterday is that on our way back from the supermarket when I bought loads of food, a special hire driver followed us back. We thought it was initially a little shady but he turned out to be the nicest guy in Uganda, I swear. Anyways, Kris and Axel used our new best friend Sular to get from Entebbe to the airport. After we'd had our emotional goodbyes and gone our separate ways I continued chilling at the pool and read a lot more of my book. I love days like today, within moderation. There's a limit as to how much chilling I can take, then I like to do something.

At 3,30pm, just as the boys' plane was taking off I got picked up by Sular and we rolled back in to Kampala. On the way in we arranged for him to take me back to Entebbe on Tuesday morning and beforehand I would go via his house and I'd teach him to roller skate and he could teach me how to ride a motorbike. I love travelling! I'd booked to go back to Red Chilli as the place was so chill and on the journey we spoke about everything and anything - music, his mentality to life, his family, how he grew up and a whole lot more random topics. Just incredible.

He dropped me at Nakumat (DANGER ZONE!) so I could grab the shuttle bus back and I met a few of the other Red Chilli residents on the bus - Lisa, Andrew, Ellen and Indra so it was cool to find out what they'd been doing in Uganda. Very few people are here to travel, they're mostly NGO workers or working for another firm that has business out here. Quite interesting.

Back at the hostel it was the same routine as the other day. I ordered food and was chilling talking to Andrew about what he'd been up to and then we went downstairs to talk to a few other people who were hanging out in the hostel and some of them I definitely recognised from our stay here 2 days ago. I met an Aussie called Vinny who runs his own NGO. Then it struck me: I was absolutely knackered! Just ridiculously tired so I headed to bed for a bit. I fell asleep talking to a room mate called Scott about what he should do when he goes to Fort Portal. I got woken up as people were leaving for the night out so I shrugged off my tiredness and downed a can of Power Horse!

I still didn't really feel like going out as we were piling in to a taxi heading to the centre of Kampala. The Power Horse picked me up a bit, but what really helped was that when we got to the club the music was so sick! We went to a chilled out bar called Deuces where the music was everything from Dire Straights to The Police via Tina Turner and Lynrd Skynrd. Great start to the night. Then after a couple o' hours it dropped in to some siiiick club tunes. It was a real cool bar, just a shame that the pool table was jacked all night long.

After Deuces we headed to a club called Timelezz (truth) where they were playing some more Afrobeats. That's what I wanted to hear, I can hear European music any time, but I wanted to know what the local music was like and it's AWESOME! There's not a single sad song that I've heard; it's all upbeat.

The girls continually warned us about having our pockets picked so I was semi-conscious of people getting too close all night, but Andrew had had a bit more to drink than I had and his iPhone got taken from his pocket. Bad times. He didn't seem that bothered by it, but I think that was due to the alcohol he'd had to drink. It's a shame because he was leaving Uganda in 2 days so he'd almost made the whole trip without anything getting stolen.

We moved to one final club which I never found out the name of but it was late/early so we didn't stay there too long. The music, company and dancing made for an awesome night out and I'm definitely glad I went instead of staying in bed.

Great. Night.

------------------

This was a screenshot from the video of Kris as he was hanging, filming the latest in our home-made Power Horse commercial videos. I'm biased, but I highly advise checking out the others too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.