This believe it or not is the car ferry between Bantry and Whiddy island, just spotted in the background under those huge clouds. On arrival at the quay an enormous lorry full of gravel boarded then sailed off. About six other cars were parked (including one with a nun in it) and I wondered how on earth they would all fit in, but they must have just been andmiring the view for no-one moved. Worth biggifying for I've been spotted; and you might like to admire the Napoleonic battery on the the island.

It's bright and breezy with the occasional spectacular downpour today. I have cleared the polytunnel and dug over the onion bed.

Tonight is Ladies' Book Club and we should be discussing two books by Anne Tyler - The Ladder of Years and The Accidental Tourist. I was surprised to find that I was a bit under-whelmed by both of them, surprised for I thought I thought I enjoyed her writing. Rather tedious characters and their every move is described in microscopic detail and it takes pages for anything to actually happen and then it's not very thrilling. Will anyone else have read them I wonder?
A bit under-whelmed by last night's film too - Before Midnight. The third in a trilogy which charts how this couple meet/ fall in love/don't see each other for years/meet again/fall in love/marry... Boy, there was a lot of talking going on - every gesture, action and sentence seemed to be dissected for proof of love, commitment, understanding, ulterior motives. Exhausting. The backdrop was Kalamata in Greece - I liked that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.