The old mill at Ebley

The rain cleared finally this afternoon which allowed me to meet up with Lucas to take another portrait for the book project. We are both councillors but don't often meet despite living in the same road as Lucas works abroad quite regularly. Today he was helping his son with some work on his new house on the eats side of Stroud at Ebley.

After taking the pictures I crossed the road to enter the new housing development beside the canal opposite to Ebley Mill, which is where the District council relocated to about twenty years ago. The large mill building was completely renovated and is a ver impressive feature of the local landscape. The District council have also been the lead organisation in the regeneration of the old canal which runs beside the mill building, and only last week a new swing bridge for pedestrians was opened over the rebuilt lock gate allowing access to the building from the north bank.

Hundreds of houses have been built and I crossed the bridge for the first time after walking through the new square which forms the centre of the housing complex. I noticed this reflection on my way home from the canal, showing the enormous chimney tower which I think is still used for exhaust from the heating system. I rather liked the reflection.

I am in a rush now as I have to return to the council chamber at Ebley Mill for a meeting of the Canals Consultative committee which I am a member of representing the town council.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.