Dotty

By Dotty

Day 27 - Sober for October

Yesterday was truly cold. And then turned truly wet. So we did what all good mothers and aunts do and took the children out at high tide and let them play King Canute.

I got told off, the boys had a scream and Aunty Mim and I made sure that at least the boys' shoes were safe. We all got soaked. To the skin.

The darling little old ladies in the charity shop came to the boys' rescue with towels and general kindness and we discovered a wonderful cosy tea shop straight off the set of Brief Encounter. I'm all out now for a resurgence in the appreciation of the Great British Toasted Teacake.

And then after Aunty Mim went home we were joined by our lovely chums Victoria, Jasmine & Jaden. John chose - actually CHOSE to go and rescue someone from perishing on a windswept mountain rather than coming to see us. Tsk. I wish we could see each other more often, but then I realise we don't actually need to. We pick up as though last year was yesterday and as though the last 3 years have been 30. How lucky is that?

I'm trying really hard not to be gushy and sentimentally ick - but it's hard when my heart is as full of joy as it is right now.

Oh - AND we figured out how to turn the heating on yesterday! No more sleeping in pyjamas, dressing gown, socks AND jumper. Which was nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.