Seriously?

By MerrilHope

"At Home"

No pub lunch today!!! Instead, this grey and damp day was spent at (Dad's) home, leisurely, sorting more of my stuff. After Dad moved here in August 2011, we gradually brought all my boxes out of storage (in London) where they had been since 1998 and every time I come home I sort out some more, dividing the contents between the Hospice shop, local music teachers, friends and family, the local tip and recycling centre and then finally putting away those things I actually want to keep after fifteen years!! In February I reduced it all to a few boxes in the spare bedroom with six more in the garage waiting to be sorted - treasures, books, art and craft supplies, kitchen paraphernalia, wall hanging pictures, old photo albums, and of course, junk. Sorting it is always a bit of a chore but is also a trip down memory lane and can often be quite nostalgic. What do you do with that complete Eternal Beau dinner service from the late-eighties? or 200+ LPs, boxes of books fiction and reference, piano music, orchestral scores and literally hundreds - thousands of photographs ? So, I just "keep on sorting" creating an ever decreasing collection of stuff that was "my life".

Rather than take a photo of boxes of said stuff, today's blip is a panoramic shot of Dad's lounge using my Galaxy S4. I love this room - so tranquil and calm. I am not proficient with the panoramic mode - it's only the third or fourth time I have tried - but I hope the photograph shows what a lovely quiet, peaceful space my Dad has created here. Which reminds me, super quiet day not least because no niece and nephews visits after school today (they are visiting friends) but my brother will come later this evening, which will be my cue to stop box sorting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.