Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

A99 - A Bird Magnet

My second day with the A99 and I still haven't had enough time to get it under control.

So, some very basic first impressions.

It's big, heavy and a lot more complex than my baby version. I think I got a little stuck/confused today with trying to use Auto ISO - a new trick for me that is a bit of a double edged sword - you really must pay attention to exposure and aperture when you use it. The pay off is the best low light shots you could hope for. A neat trick.

The other great benefit that got me stuck was the "assist" focal points....all 111 of them. The idea is that once you have something caught in one of the 19 normal focal points these "assist" points will keep the thing in focus, in-between the normal points. (That's why I went for birds, thought I might get a cool in-flight shot....not today).

The other big thing folk get paranoid about is the electronic view finder. It is incredible, you would have to have bionic eyes to tell the difference from a traditional optic VF. With the added bonus of full time live-view....through the view finder, so you don't have to guess all your settings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.