The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

It's a train!

If you want to know what train it is, check out CleanSteve's blip. I decided to go with him to blip this steam engine, though I sort of hate filming them because then I miss out on actually seeing them! This is apparently the last one this year, so I am glad I went along.

I was standing on top of the old rubbish dump which is where the new pedestrian path for the canal goes. I call it Teletubby hill because grass has been seeded and grown on top, but there are still little chimneys or vents that are releasing methane gas from the old tip. I don't remember any methane gas in Teletubbies but I would not be at all surprised if the colourful TV characters show up there one day. Apparently wildflower seeds were sown on the hill too, but withered in the intense heat of July and August.

Anyway, the train came and I took six million shots with the tracking button, but I don't like any of them. For example, you can't see the head of steam in this one. However, I've posterised it to give it the 1930s feel, and the Capel Mill's viaduct is looking viaductilicious...

The rest of our morning was also described by CleanSteve, and fun and sociable. I later went round the shops and to the library with my mate A, who is making me feel bad because we are doing the same course (online) and she is trying to read all the books on the reading list, and guess what? I'm not! I went to a junk shop and bought a book about how to make Christmas crafts for kids, instead. Not that it is Christmas, or that they'll be easy to make with children with multiple disabilities, but there's always something...

I spent the rest of the fine, warm afternoon attempting to be quiet and still, as the antidote to a too-busy week. The writing course assignments can wait till tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.