Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Coming to a Theater Near You?

Probably not.

There's going to be a very important County Council election here this year. Although it's officially non-partisan, a slate of four candidates running a joint campaign has been endorsed by the Democrats. I've never been active in politics before, but today I volunteered to go doorbelling for these candidates.

The volunteers gathered in the campaign office beforehand for instructions, pep talks, and short speeches by the candidates.

Somebody was making a documentary movie of the proceedings, including a close-up of my hands pouring myself a cup of coffee -- a little unsteadily. The camera was also trained on me while I was chatting with my fellow canvasser. I remarked -- on camera -- that we were probably being included because we were of a certain age.

It remains to be seen whether I, and my hands, end up on the cutting room floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.