Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Family Portraits

I have new respect for photographers who do family portraits. Trying to get everyone to have their eyes open at the same time is a feat, to say nothing of trying to capture each individual's unique personality.

I found, today, that even trying to do that with dogs is a challenge. I decided to try out my new tripod by taking a few shots of the pups. Before I set up, I decided it might be easier if I took the dogs for a long walk so that they would "squirm" less. When we came home, there were really happy to pile into their little bed. But, then they were tired and wanted to go to sleep. One would yawn, another would look droopy eyed, and Iggins just wanted to sleep. I finally resorted to the dog owner's best friend - the treat bag. I first just rattled the treat bag, to try to get an alert reaction from them. No way. They weren't buying it. So, I then decided to make a game of it. I laid out one treat for each of them just outside of the view of the camera, and told them to "stay". They would look at the treats, then at me just waiting for me to give the comment "o.k." for them to retrieve their treat (or in Peri's case, try to steal the other treats before the other's get theirs - that's why I put her in the back). We did this two times, so that they got the hang of the "game" we were playing. By the third time, I was able to several very nice shots, without yawns, closed eyes, etc. After we were all done, we all took a Saturday afternoon nap together.

Top: Pirouette ("Peri") - 4 yr old female
Bottom left: Iggins - 13 yr old. male, Bottom right: Voila! ("Wally") - 3 yr old female.

Sorry I haven't gotten to everyone's photos. I've been rather swamped since I got here. But I will over the next couple of days. I really love viewing all of your journals. They are all unique and exquisite! Thanks for your patience!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.