A SPLENDID DAY FOR A WALK

that's what I thought in the morning. Rummaging between all the maps and tours I found a new, seemingly nice one. Called: Die Weser im Blick or Look upon the Weser. There would be a wonderful look from the Áussichtsplateau auf dem Rotsbergfelsen, or a scenic view at some point.
First a drive to the abandoned Waldfriendenhotel, and park there.
Although I had with me a description of our trip we did not see a marked path. So we took the first path we saw, but it ended soon in a private field. I saw a sign warning for snakes! Piet Hein who had been with the scouts in his youth said to me: I'll look for a minute overthere. A familiar saying, ending in him disappearing for a much longer time than I liked.
I walked back to the car and found the road we had to go. Piet Hein phoned me for information and then came back from where he in the meantime had landed.
We followed the new found road. Discussing then that the sign that I had seen did not warn for snakes but for bees. I am stubborn, he is too.
There stood beehives at that place and after some deliberation I found the solution. There had been two signs. On our way back I checked and of course there was only one, be careful bees!
Our path went up the hill, a wonderful walk between the multi coloured trees.
Not much of scenic views upon the river as was promised, but we walked with much pleasure.
After some hours we came to a point where we felt we were lost, no signs to be seen and although Piet Hein could see on google maps where we exactly were, we decided to walk the same way back. Enough is enough.
Mischa will soon arrive here by train(s) and spend some days with us. She'll be delighted seeing the fabulous, autumnal scenery.
For my picture of today I choose a little woodscene!

My haiku:

Some tiny mushrooms
Forming a forest village
High upon the trunk

And the proverb:

De muizenkeutels zijn geen peper.

Translation: The droppings of the mice are not peppercorns.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.