West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Grey Day

I have shot this pier before but previously in the sunnier days when the water was bright and skies clear. Today although the sun was out early I waited and true to form the day changed for the worse.

I like it here, it is peaceful, nobody around and the river still, the water today was a peaty brown after the heavy rains in recent days, the tide ebbing and the gentle swish of the river as she flowed was the only noise except when the rain came and then the patter of the drops as the gently caressed the river but that was peaceful too. I sat in the rain, it wasn't cold. I put the camera away as it was quite wet as I sat I reflected on things again, I think as I get older I think about things more, ponder and re-ponder what needs to be done.

Without realising it I was really quite wet, rain drops running down my nose and dripping off into my lap. I wandered back to the car and drove slowly home headed for the books again. I must have been tired as I lost most of the afternoon having fallen asleep while reading. I grabbed my stuff to work at the rink as the twins were coached and when I got there I have forgotten one of my books, my pen case and really it wasn't worth my effort having humphed the bag with me.

I feel sick that despite having spent 7 hours on uni work today I still have the prospect of another four or so to meet a deadline despite having been working on the material for a week. Post grad studies, full-time work and eight year old twins it seems are not a match.

I hope today's effort is ok, I will sign off and return to the books resigned to burning the candle at both ends tonight to get this finished. Best in large I suspect although I have not looked myself yet.... maybe tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.