The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The House With Nobody In It

Whenever I walk to Suffern along the Erie track
I go by a poor old farmhouse with its shingles broken and black.
I suppose I've passed it a hundred times, but I always stop for a minute
And look at the house, the tragic house, the house with nobody in it.

....

(A) house that has done what a house should do, a house that has sheltered life,
That has put its loving wooden arms around a man and his wife,
A house that has echoed a baby's laugh and held up his stumbling feet,
Is the saddest sight, when it's left alone, that ever your eyes could meet.

So whenever I go to Suffern along the Erie track
I never go by the empty house without stopping and looking back,
Yet it hurts me to look at the crumbling roof and the shutters fallen apart,
For I can't help thinking the poor old house is a house with a broken heart.
Joyce Kilmer (1886 - 1918)

I had a choice to make and asked Connie for her suggestion. She voted for this image saying it reminded her of a Joyce Kilmer poem which she then recited, quite movingly, from memory.

This one's for Connie ... and the adventure continues.


Today's Almost a Blip ~ Flkr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.