Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Butter-butt in action

A warbler in flight ... I'm a very happy bunny. I was photograpning the little yell0w-rumped warbler (also called butter-butts) perched on the pine tree when it suddenly jumped off the branch and starting gleaning insects in the air! It was one of those "hold the shutter down and mutter OMG, OMG" moments. And, amazingly, several of the inflight shots came out pretty good. This one is my personal favorite because you can see the name-sake marking.

Just moments before I got this shot, a yellow-bellied sapsucker flew up and landed on the deck, not even 9 feet from where I was standing! Another "OMG, OMG" moment. That is the second YBS I've seen in less than a week - pretty cool! And, a couple of hours before, while I was hiking, I caught a hawk in flight. Not a bad day.

I posted six shots, including three of this warbler, a close up of a titmouse, the hawk and the YBS all on Flickr, starting HERE.

BlipBear and Kiwi left this afternoon for the Pacific Northwest where they will be visiting Legacy and Monty-Moose. For a last look at the Terrific Twosome, meeting one of the local birds, see Folio, here. Travel safe, little buddies!

Happy Tuesday!

xxoo,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.