The Occasional Indignity of Parenting

Are you really taking a picture of me holding this balloon? Truly?

It's been a harrowing day at the office. Problems always seem to come along in clusters. The natural inference was that they were related but they all proved to be independent issues in the end - one the result of a single silly mistake by me which took far too long to rectify. I'm still playing catch-up on all fronts - including eating!

Most of the people I get talking to at lunchtime are cheery characters but today I met someone a little sad. Did I get drawn to him because I was feeling far from cheery myself today? Anyway, I gave him an ear for quite a while. His view of the world was a little distasteful but I just stayed quiet and listened. That was my good deed of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.