Capital adventures

By marchmont

Last day

I was up early again, the moonlight. It was so quiet, no throbbing motor, no crew dashing around, no noises from the town. The sea was like a millpond, really flat calm with the most amazing reflections. it was chilly when I went on deck, 14 degrees, but once the sun came up you could tell it was going to be another hot day. I packed and repacked. Hopefully adding 2+ kgs of Turkish Delight to my hold baggage won't put me over the limit. it didn't, 19.4 kgs!

As we weren't leaving till 11 there was time for a wander and a coffee with C then farewells to Gorkum. Everyone all smiles now.

Dalaman airport is huge compared to 14 years ago. Mainly charter, package holidays and very busy. We queued to get in, then queued to check in, then queued for security and it was hot. I couldn't be bothered spending my last 58TL, especially when a sandwich was 20 (£7). I munched my Mt Akdag apples instead.

The plane was slightly late but not full and I sat beside a couple who'd been on the Lykian Way week and stayed on. I slept a good bit of the way and listened to book #3.

We got to a slight damp, but surprisingly warm Gatwick at 5 and there were no queues at Border control and no queues at easyJet bag drop. I've never seen Gatwick so quiet. I'm still on holiday so a meal in Cafe Rouge, sea trout and creme brulee was the order. Of course being 22 October Gatwick has its Christmas decs up, all twinkly trees and lights above the duty 'free'.

Back to a wetter but still warm Edinburgh after 9 and home an hour later.

Shandwick Place is open - progress on the trams. And the airport bus, which now goes along George Street so it can go across Princes Street and up the Mound deleting that stupid roundabout turn in Market Street, meant we could see the Dome's twinkly Christmas lights too. 9 weeks!

Molly, the wonder cat doesn't appear to have missed me, but the house was warm and clean and tidy. thanks #2 son. And nice to be in a bed without a swaying motion.

Here's to to the next holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.