Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Glancing Sideways

We abandoned ship this morning. Extreme fire danger predicted, and thus advice - unless the house was well-prepared and we set to defend it actively (ummmNOTHANKYOUBAI) was to leave, and leave early.

So we left.

We headed to Lalor Park, where some good friends live, and have sat here watching the RFS updates - including most recently, intensified fire activity in Faulconbridge. Still not likely to be threatening our house, thankfully; we will continue to watch closely, and with a bit of luck, as it cools into the afternoon we'll be right to get back home, as the rest of the week shouldn't bring anything like today's conditions.

I also need to watch the Katoomba side of things to decide whether or not I'm going up there - or whether I try to re-route my patients to the Springwood clinic. I think I probably will - but I've just rung, and there was no answer ... which probably doesn't surprise me.

We took the kids out for a little walk to a local cafe for a mid-morning excursion and snack. I took this of missy-moo as we left. The pairing of the K-30 and the old Pentax M 50 mm lens is really nice - and a lot of fun.

Worth a large look, I think edit: and it appears Flickr agrees; Missy gave me my third 'Explore' in a few days.

I also snapped this from the hip-ish. It was too dark, needing a fair bit of dodging and lightening, and is noisy and rather fuzzy and off - but I like it nonetheless.

I liked this other shot of missy as well, but mrs tsuken and I both prefer the one I chose to blip.

Another possibility was the first of a few similar pics - I rather like it in colour as well. it's just that she looks a bit too soft in that one, and there's the distracting edge of the umbrella thing.

Ahahahahaha and this from the news in the US: the NSW bushfires would seem to be worse than we thought....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.