WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

Wonderfully Random

Tuesday was a day of loveliness. I spent the morning at home reading Panel papers and catching up on blip. I then went into town to meet a friend for lunch. I ended up taking the bus because my back bike tyre was flat... Puncture resistant tyres may be in my future after this second puncture in a fortnight.

After lunch I wandered up to the Dovecot Studios on Infirmary Street for the David Peat exhibition, which was excellent. For any blippers in and around Edinburgh, I would recommend it if you like street photography - only on until Saturday.

A free Warhol exhibition on Monday, this free exhibition on Tuesday - that would be enough to seriously like this city but the light when I came out of the Studios sealed the deal. The light in this city can be extraordinarily beautiful! I was wandering around the street, staring up and taking photos when I met the subject of today's blip. Please meet Paul from Wigan. Paul was coming up the close (closely cropped behind him) and seemed to be doing the same as me so naturally I just started speaking to him. Canadians have a habit of speaking to strangers. Thankfully, people in Wigan may have the same habit because Paul responded in kind. It turns out this was his first trip to Edinburgh and he was taken by the light but more so by the architecture. We had a great little conversation and were laughing a lot when I asked to take his photograph. I can't remember what the joke was but I'm grateful I captured his expression. What a lovely bloke.

I had to get home for another client and was very lucky to sit next to a chap on the bus who looked very familiar. We finally worked out where we knew each other from and had an interesting conversation about regeneration projects in Kosovo. As you do.

I then had a lovely client and then went to see the Scottish Ensemble, by invitation of a dear friend echo had an extra ticket. They were staging a musical football match of Britain v Germany - you can hear the stirring piece by William Walton on their promotional video at the link. It was a great night with incredibly talented musicians - you just can't beat live music. Thank you Colin!

More photos of today's light here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.