Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Shhhhh!

I love Wednesdays, ‘cause on Wednesdays Mom and I hang out with the toddlers while Laurie fixes lunch. Then I get to clean up all the spills under the table when they’re done eating. (Mom blipped about that one time.)

My other mom Laurie thinks I’m a wiggly dog, but this photo proves I can sit still, even when the little boys are running in and out of the room! They were telling me to ‘shhhh’ because I’d just barked at something outside (Me!? Barking?? Hmmph!) They’d say “shhhhh” real loud, then giggle and squeal and run out of the room, then run back in, still giggling and squealing, over and over again. It made me a little nervous, but I had Mom there to protect me.

I have to wait while the children eat their lunch. First they have a little ritual before the food is served, with some howling and deep breaths and then a song about food. (Mom recorded it today so you can see what they do.) They eat very slowly, and I watch the little bits of food fall to the floor, but I have to wait on Mom’s lap until one or two of them are done before I clean up. I’ve learned how to be very patient!

Looking at this photo, I think I need to go on a diet. Maybe I should stay out in the cottage on Wednesdays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.