Adelpha californica (California Sister)

At last we are on our annual fall outing to Yosemite, delayed a bit by the government shutdown but now happily in our campsite by the Merced River. We can see Half Dome from our picnic table and watch the sunset without taking a step! Usually we try to be done with dinner and cleanup in time to see the alpenglow on the mountains, but tonight we didn't have to hurry--I could watch the light changing as I finished the dishes! It's seven oclock and completely dark out; we are snug in the van and about to play a round of Bananagrams.

As for the butterfly, she was flitting around at the edge of the lawn in front of the Ahwahnee Lodge. I suppose some of you might prefer to see a view of the historic hotel itself, fabulously nestled against the towering granite cliff, but I am zeroing in, completely hooked by the fact that I could get so close to a living creature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.