Horrendous weather in the night - torrential rain and flooding in certain areas. The skies cleared at around 11 am and I headed down to Kilcrohane to deliver cards. As I've mentioned before, this is not something to be hurried. Coffee and chat was taken in the Post office, and more chat in Eileen's Bar. I then went on into Bantry, taking the Goat's Path. This journey normally takes about 30 minutes, but took well over an hour as I was leaping in an out of the car like a whippet! The views were incredible. The sea was like glass and huge clouds loomed over the Beara, and such rich colours. I thought I had my blip until I came into Bantry itself where the inner bay was staggering -still a few boats anchored and a funky reflection from this deliciate little bridge going down to a small pier.

The man in the garage where I topped up on petrol told me to find a good book for the forecast for the weekend is atrocious apparently. All calm at the moment. If it stays so I might venture out to Church Cross village hall tonight wheree an expert is talking about cilliní - unconsecrated burial grounds. I know how to live alright!

Bantry Bay hornpipe to listen to as you stare!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.