Millefiori...

...or a thousand flowers, which means a whole thousand blips posted! Sadly, not continuous as, if I had not had trouble with the memory card during the holiday in the USA (where we met LocalFoodLover and Phil), this might have been posted a month ago. I still intend to backblip, when I get round to loading and the links on Flickr.

I have blipped paperweights before (here and here) but I have chosen different ones for this special occasion:-

The far left one is actually an inverted shield-shape but, viewed from above, served to represent the number one, it was bought on eBay in 2004.

Of the round ones, from left to right, are a 2005 millefiori by glassmaker Peter McDougall, with fine complex canes.

Next is an early Strathearn close-packed weight, with several examples of the canes in use in the late 1960's or early 1970's.

On the far right is a basic Strathearn of no particular merit except that it is the first I ever bought, when I came to live in Scotland in 1967 so is easy to date.

Please note, I have no antique collectables!


So, millefiorri go to Joe and all in Blipcentral for this wonderful site and all those in Blipland whose journals I follow and browse through, and to those who so generously comment. I do enjoy your amazing variety of skills. Thanks to all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.