Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Wyandotte

I'm not exactly poultry potty but I've always liked to keep a few chickens. I acquired nine chicks on the 31st July, thank you blip journal, and a couple of bog standard Isa rescues, who were laying. They've done an excellent job in the garden. The new plot of land is now clear of most of the weeds, apart from the remaining nettles, and my borders are now looking as though I've spent a small fortune on a gardener. They failed to read the RHS guide to plants and few things I'd have preferred to keep have disappeared with the weeds. Come spring they will be banished from the front garden!

The Araucanas are just mature enough to see which are males or females now but the two Wyandottes, over the past 3 weeks have grown at a tremendous rate. I've blipped the cockerel as, apart from beginning to look to look utterly fabulous, today I heard his first real crow. He has tried and failed miserably over the past week but today it was a full blown cockadoodledoo. The other surprise was the finding of three eggs today. His hen is laying!

Wyandottes are a popular breed which originate in America. The cockerels have flattened combs called Rose combs and are rumpless which means, they have no tail feathers to stick up in the air as in the classical image. This is a dark version of a gold laced. His body feathers are gold with black edges. His hen is silver laced... a pic will come sooner or later. :)

Useless information provided, I'm off to the pub!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.