In My World

By JoanneInOz

At a very Eastern Location.

Three months ago my daughter Emma and I heard a rumour that there is a market, one well worth visiting, a bit less than an hours drive south of us, at a little town called Bangalow. The market is only held on the last Sunday of each month and this is the first last-Sunday-of-the-month that both of us have had the day free.

The rumour was right, we loved the market and enjoyed browsing through the market stalls all morning, after which time we headed to Byron Bay, the most easterly town in Australia, for lunch.

We visited Cape Byron whilst there and I was really pleased when we were told that we were in time to take a tour up into the actual lighthouse too. I've been visiting this lighthouse for years now, but have never timed my visit as perfectly as today.

I have a bit of a thing for lighthouses. I could live in one, I could be a lighthouse keeper, I could be the gardener at a lighthouse, I could clean the windows at the lighthouse ~ anything to just be there! It may be only a spiral staircase with a light at the top to some, to me it is an adventure into a romantic era of times long gone. Hence the photo, looking down the spiral staircase from the top of the stairs.

As I clicked away with my camera, Emma announced that I should get back into blipping, so here I am. My work isn't all up to date yet, but I should be able to add the occasional entry to my journal, with today in particular being a most blippable day.

Emma and I concluded that Bangalow Markets are a pretty special place to visit. We'll go there again as soon as our free days coincide again (and hopefully, next time, my other daughter will come along with us too!)

“If you open your eyes very wide and look around you carefully, you will always see a lighthouse which will lead you to the right path! Just watch around you carefully!” ~ Mehmet Murat ildan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.