biodiversity

By LoJardinier

Hommage à Brassens

Last night in the village Salle des Fêtes the Cercle Occitan had organised a presentation of the life and songs of Georges Brassens, performed by Guy Vigouroux who is pictured here.

He is an extremely good interpreter of the oeuvre of the great songwriter from Sète: his clear and resonant voice and nifty guitar-playing brought these wonderful songs to life, and he was much applauded. He's had an interesting career - international rugby league player - he told me he'd played in Swansea for France v Wales, turned referee and now an accomplished performer who explained Brassens's songs with passion and deep knowledge. I know a few of the songs, and was glad he played one of my favourites - watch it here, sung by the great man.

I've been quite involved in the publicity - printing and disrtibuting flyers and posters, and contacting our village correspondent for Midi Libre, so I was pleased that we had a good crowd- maybe double our usual number, from far and near. Because I've got free time, I also ended up being in the Salle from two in the afternoon to set things up, till two in the morning after we'd cleaned up! Tired but worth it - glad of the extra hour's sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.