Presence

The big storm pretty much passed us by up here in the north of England but it was very wet going into work and equally wet coming home this evening - although at lunchtime the sun thankfully came out for a brief while. I took my usual circuit of Market Square and was immediately drawn to a group of people who looked both at home here but also a little out of place. They had a presence about them and I sniffed the possibility of an interesting shot. When they disappeared into a shop I decided to hover around a bit and eventually one of the group emerged with a phone to his ear. To my delight he positioned himself in the perfect place for the shot I was after. I love it when that happens.

I took a few candids and he took off without noticing me at all. He had such a great look that I really wanted to ask if I could take a portrait too. I chased him up the street and introduced myself. I'm really glad I did. He's a member of a band called Normanton Street, the lead members from around here, but the band based in Brighton. I'm listening to their sound now on a CD which Ned Archibong here gifted me. It's a soulful mix of jazz and hip hop, and it's really growing on me as I'm spinning the disc for a third hearing. They definitely have something. A presence with their music every bit as much as they had on the street. And Ned was more than happy to pose for a few pictures. If you get to read this, I really appreciate your generosity my friend. The band are playing Manchester, Liverpool and Sheffield over the next few days but sadly not Leeds or Bradford. Next time I hope.

You will have noticed that he's also a photographer, using a film camera and then scanning to digital. There is something about the design of 35mm film cameras which evokes a strong nostalgic response. I guess this is the type of camera that I was brought up on, like a whole generation indeed, and it's hardwired into my photographic brain that this is how a camera should properly look and feel. I'm wondering if Nikon are about to tap into this huge and eager market? If you're not aware already, they are building up some very impressive hype. As this article suggests, though, setting expectations so high can be a risky business. I will admit that the clever marketing is so far working on me. I feel like I'm being seduced!

I came across a great article about street photography on PetaPixel this weekend, from a guy called Oliver Duong. I recognised so much of what he writes about as things I've worked out for myself but possibly not acknowledged as such before reading this. I know a lot of people on blip are keen to explore street photography but lack the necessary confidence, just as I did a year ago when I first started to take my first few tentative street shots. Do read this piece. It's really very good. The most important point he makes is that "in the streets people are anonymous, they are just one in a million. But when you point a camera at them you acknowledge them. You take notice of them, and everyone wants that. Including you, including me". That's so true. The great majority of people are happy to be acknowledged in this way. Only a minority seek anonymity and it's usually pretty obvious who those few are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.