Random Series of Events

The other day, I joined Dan (pictured above) and Ryan (not pictured above) on an internet hunt that led us all over Maadi. The original shop we went to didn't have the SIM/router combo required and so we ended up on the other side of the neighbourhood. Once internet was sorted (for Ryan and Dan, not me (I'd forgotten my passport)), a pair of beggars near the shop forced us to detour down a street which just so happened to have an excellent little pub hidden away where we ended up playing pool and darts and drinking cheap beer.

This evening, word got round quickly about a little gathering I had arranged in the Lebanese restaurant near our apartment where Larissa and I were joined by eight of our new friends for some mixed grill and sheesha action. After some great chat and food (for those of us who braved the grill) we headed back up to our secret pub where we were joined by three more of our new mates.

Towards the end of the night, I quizzed Dan about his trip to the Giza Pyramids last week which, by all accounts, was an amazing experience and unlike anything you'd get if you went down the traditional tourist route. What's more, it began just by jumping in the right taxi at the right time. More on that tomorrow, but for now this is Dan phoning the pyramid guy for me, in the pub we found the other day.

This place is great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.