The Pilgrims

The adventure starts here.

Up at 5.30 am, after a really good sleep. I had a minor meltdown last night at about 8.30 pm; needing sleep and not being able to find anywhere quiet to get it! Luckily Mary, one of the organisers, found me a quiet spot in a quiet room. Ear plugs firmly inserted and snuggled down in my sleeping bag, I actually had to be shaken awake this morning.

It was cold as we did our ablutions and had a very basic breakfast. A blessing at the church by the Bishop, and then we were off on our 100 km Pilgrimage to Bendigo.

This shot was taken as we strode through a cemetery and we still had a spring in our step; about an hour in.

Just before morning tea, the choir (of which I am a part) was whisked off by bus for a practice. What a wonderful experience, singing with so many talented choristers. Our practice was for the beautiful sung Mass that followed, once the rest of the pilgrims had caught us up.

After lunch, we walked again to our evening accommodation, another drafty hall. We had all got quite wet on our afternoon sojourn and I was delighted to find myself sleeping next to a lovely warm heater.

Another basic meal - soup and bread - and then off to bed with a grumbly, hungry stomach.

Night all.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.