Lovember: Open University

Emma is feisty, determined and a joy. And she just happens to be studying with the OU as well. We met to discuss Cezanne, which is always a jolly thing to do.

The Open University has given Emma and me an environment in which we can learn that would have been tricky, to say the least, to access elsewhere. I hope she gets as much out of it as I am.

Rodelinda was an absolute joy last night. The production was wonderful for the very reasons I've seen it slated in reviews: it was pared down to a trio of harpsichord, violin and cello supporting the key players with a very simple and elegant set. It felt a little like I imagine the Bath Assemblies would have done in Georgian England: except the hall was packed with tweed, cashmere and moleskin instead of rustling silks. I'd like to think my tutu contributed something to the general ambience.

It was also quite the raunchiest performance I've EVER seen of any opera - and it went down a storm! I'm so glad I went - I was tired and it was a mile walk through driving rain to get there, but within 10 minutes I was transported off to the land of heaving bosoms, tortured passions and heartbreak. And I sobbed: which is always a very good sign. For me: I do like a good theatrical sob.

#Lovember: a whole month of things I love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.