Pizza-licious

Backblipped last night.

This is part of my planning for one of my lessons tomorrow - my Year 11's are beginning a unit of work on creating animations using Adobe Flash. A number of them are so well motivated that they have completed the first task of evaluating animations that they have found themselves, so I need to be able to move them on to the next stage which is for them to plan their own animation.

Sadly, a lot of students want to ditch this stage - they want to get straight onto the software and create - but then when they do, they make fundamental errors and get really frustrated because, guess what, they didn't think it all through first!!!

So I have sat for the last hour creating an example plan - you'll notice that the annotations are handwritten and it isn't perfect - because I want the students to see that planning involves making and revising decisions.

I had to take a photo so that I could then print some copies out in colour for the students to refer to tomorrow.

Poor planning and preparation leads to p*** poor performance ...

(Of course, I now have to create this planned animation and create a set of instructions about key features of the software that is student friendly...and then I will have to do an example evaluation, explaining the processes I went through and why my final product is not the same as my plan - because it won't be - and the kids get really hung up about stuff like that - they don't understand that there isn't necessarily a right or a wrong way - but as long as they understand and can explain how they ended up with a final product that meets the brief and that they are happy with, the journey can go whichever direction it takes you!)

Must go - my plumber wants to get on the computer and backblip!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.