Kai

Here's Kai who I sat beside on the way back to Spain from Rio. He's a lovely, open, young German, a native of Berlin with roots in the east of the city, and who works in the State social security system both evaluating claims and picking out those whom I termed 'over-claimers'. 'You mean ''cheats''? Yes, I handle them too!', he said, cutting through my diplomacy.

In his spare time, Kai leads a volley ball team, rides a motor bike fast, and with his music band mixes different genres of music together to play in clubs. 'Like what?', I ask.
'Like The Back Street Boys and Bach! The result is a new take on things and everyone can dance to it.' That 'everyone' may one day include yours truly and the 'Scottish Boys Weekend' contingent who are due in Berlin next year for a wee outing; 'All ages come along,' Kai reassured me.

He had a very long lay over in Madrid airport, and very kindly offered to come to my gate and see me off on my earlier flight. We had coffee and our talk turned to Blip, and 'Bingo!', my eyes lit up as I thought Kai could be my subject of the day! He was only too happy to collaborate (what better way to spend a lay over!) and we hunted down a location very quickly as my flight was already being called. So, here you have Kai sitting on my trolley bag in a busy thoroughfare with a constant stream of passengers passing just behind my back as I knelt for the shot. Congratulations to him for being so un-phased by it all, and bringing his clear eyed look so calmly to the camera. He'll be popping in here for sure later today, so please say, 'Hello!'.

Thanks, Kai, for the company, and your choice of shot was indeed the best!

Click for LARGE

AND A MESSAGE FROM KAI on 5th November 2013:

I am very thankful for the lovely written text and the positive responses you got for the photo taken, and me as person.

Back at work, I have to say that I am totally relaxed and full of motivation. So my holidays were a great success!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.