briocarioca

By briocarioca

UVA - I wuz there

HH told me that if I didn't let him take a photo of me, there would be no record of my actually being on this holiday - so I instructed him to take this one.

Spent the whole afternoon at the University of Virginia, Jefferson's crowning achievement. What a fantastic place - just wished I could go back in time and be a student here - or at least, that our daughters could have studied here. Such beautiful buildings, in a perfect setting, and further adorned with all the fall colours. Students playing ball, cycling, studying, socializing in their rooms around the green (a highly prized privilege of a select few 4th year students), walking to and from the library, town, digs... Tourists and visitors of all ages (was that girl turning cartwheels and doing handstands on the lawn the same one we saw in action yesterday at Monticello)?

We were shown round by Nate, an extremely pleasant, articulate and well-informed 3rd year student of Economics and Religion. All voluntary work, for which they receive extensive training. He seemed to fulfill the Jeffersonian ideals of knowledge and happiness - I believe the third was power (he certainly had the power to enthrall).

For someone who studied law, Jefferson was one hell of an architect. The way the rooms in the rotunda capture the light, with their tall windows and oval shape, is supremely beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.