The Street Art Photographer

As I post this in the early evening I should by now be relaxing in West Cork, catching up with TJ on the Sheepshead, taking in that thoroughly therapeutic blend of sea and mountain air which so enlivens the weary spirit. But I'm not. I'm still in Manchester, 12 hours after leaving home this morning, just 60 miles away. My long catalogue of eventful journeys to Ireland has yet another entry. I'm now on the 8.55 pm flight, my 9.15 am having been cancelled. Aer Lingus did not do themselves proud. Problems happen and I can accept that. But the paucity of information and help was nothing short of scandalous. At least, barring further problems, I'm going to be arriving on the same day as originally intended.

It's not actually been too much of a hardship. I caught the train back into the city and have spent the day roaming the streets with my camera. It's been largely grey and wet but I was fortunate to enjoy two short spells of bright sunshine while I was out exploring. In between times I've been sipping coffee and playing with my pictures. It's not often I have this kind of time at my disposal. It's passed very quickly.

Light has the same transformative power in the urban landscape as it does in the natural landscape. The city literally radiates when the sun is out, light reflecting off all its brand new shiny surfaces. So many dazzling patterns to be found in the buildings. So many exotic people to be found on the street. The stylistic diversity of its architecture and the multicultural diversity of its population makes Manchester a photographer's paradise. It has been hard to choose which shot to post. I've taken quite a few dazzling cityscapes, like this one of Piccadilly Station, and a dazzling portrait of the beautiful Gloriana from Costa Rica, but I'm more drawn to the darker side of the city, its underbelly, the hidden canals and railway arches. I was tempted to post this shot of a lock gate, taking one of Manchester's many canals underground, but I've been most drawn to the shot you see, of a woman up to the same nefarious activity as myself. And this is the art she was capturing, although I think by stepping back I got a more interesting shot!

These arches also provide shelter for the homeless. Not far from here I met Lenny who was keen to engage in conversation and crack a few jokes. He was down on his luck but still cheerful. He never asked for anything but when I left I offered him a few quid for a meal tonight. It didn't feel right to ask for a photograph. Sometimes the energy takes me in that direction but not in this case. Perhaps that's why I want to post this shot, to remind me of people like Lenny and their seemingly indomitable spirit.

The worst thing with all this delay was having to go through security for a second time, and then deal with navigating through duty-free. Am I the only one who finds it strange that they make catching a plane even more stressful that it already is by placing a maze in front of the departure gates? I discovered tonight, for once not running through against the clock, that it's no easier when you've got plenty of time. Indeed, not being so focussed, it was even more confusing. I must have been wandering around that hall of mirrors and evil grinning shop attendants for at least ten minutes before I eventually found my way out.

I better go grab a bite to eat and make sure I catch this flight. It would be more than a little embarrassing if I were to miss it after having so much time to spare!

PS Thanks for all the lovely words for dear Katherine and Barbara yesterday. I'll be sure to pass the compliments on when I see them next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.