All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter

"All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost."
- J.R.R. Tolkien



We have been very fortunate this year. The autumn colors have lingered, and the golden yellows have been especially lovely, even into early November.

On Wednesday afternoon, I was on campus for a meeting, and on my way, I strolled through the Arboretum and along the little path that leads to the president's house.

You've seen this pathway at least one time before on these pages, lined in late-summer shades of green. The president's house is at the end of the path. To the right are the Arboretum grounds, which I visit often.

On this particular day, every single tree - and the ground beneath each one - was a riot of orange-yellow-gold in the afternoon sun.

I submit to you, my friends: How can a girl be expected to get anything done when it looks like this outside each day?

The soundtrack: Lady Antebellum, Golden.

P.S. A quick note of thanks to all of you for the the heartwarming comments on my prior blip of the running man. I am touched by your kindness. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.