Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Chooks

The chickens have taken to spending part of the day perched on the garden fence. They do wander a bit and I've retrieved a couple that were wandering, dangerously close to the traffic whizzing by, on the footpath by road. Not the most sensible place for a chicken! So far they seem to be ignoring my neighbours garden. The day they find the way in there will be when they are banished to a pen. The grass in the field has grown so tall they struggle to walk through it.

I rang the Rural Payments Agency to get the plot number of the field. Without the bureaucracy, even though the distance is less than a mile as the crow flies, the sheep can't be moved. Impressive organisation! One single call, which was answered immediately, produced three letters within three days giving me all the various registration numbers that I need to keep animals on the land in my name. If you follow the link you can see what a nightmare DEFRA has invented. I only intend bringing down 5 sheep. You can imagine the frustration when a farmer has a major flock to deal with!

I'm not managing to comment on anyone's blips at the moment. I am sorry! Time is very limited. On the one hand it means I'm working too much and earning never enough, on the other it means I'm feeling very guilty and missing out on all your news and views. The worst was when I couldn't blip at all. Things are slowing down a little but I'll still be submerged for a couple of weeks more. Thank you so much for still giving me your attention and comments. You are a wonderful group of people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.