A Blip on the Reidar

By reidar

Walls come tumbling down (Part2)...

Lunchtime stroll on the advice of a friend to see the remains of the old Post Office building on Lady Lawson Street, Edinburgh. I stood around for a twenty minutes taking photos and then one of the Foremen for the demolition crew came over and asked just how many pictures I was going to take?

I told him it would be hundreds, and he laughed. So I got talking to him and he said that the buidling was built in 1972 with next to no internal support for the five stories it included. Didn't seem much more to come down but he reckoned it could take the rest of the week to come down safely or if like last Saturday a huge section could just fall down anyway.

There is scaffolding still up on some of the buidling as it was undergoing a 20 million pound facelift and refit, not now anway. I also liked the way that even though the roads past the building have been closed off for over a week the traffic lights where still going through there sequence.

Here's Part1 of my demolition Blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.