Combi31

By Combi31

Icterine Warbler

Beautifully warm day today, more like August than November …

I went out to the pond near my office at lunchtime, there was a snipe - much too fast for me, a Kingfisher which was hidden by a branch and these warblers.

See it bigger here

I've just noticed that this little bird appears to have an injured leg.

It's clear that there is no point waiting until the end of the day anymore - I left the office at 18h00 this evening, it could have been 3am …. oh how I detest the dark nights …
This weekend is a long weekend in France - Monday is a holiday for 11th November
__________________________
L'adieu du cavalier

Ah Dieu ! que la guerre est jolie
Avec ses chants ses longs loisirs
Cette bague je l'ai polie
Le vent se mêle à vos soupirs

Adieu ! voici le boute-selle
Il disparut dans un tournant
Et mourut là-bas tandis qu'elle
Riait au destin surprenant

Guillaume Apollinaire (1880 - 1918)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.