Caged

An unexpectedly pleasant day - lots of sunshine and only the odd shower. I've been working away in the garden - this is the view from inside one of the fruit cages and the bright red leaves are on the blueberries. This part of the garden is bog, and I was working in a couple of inches of water, clearing around the bushes which were in danger of being submerged by luxuriant aand indescriminate growth. Sheets of mypex (back plastic stuff) and bark chippings had been laid but nature gets through nonetheless. I disturbed several little frogs and was amazed at how many big Red Admirals were busily sunning themselves. Leaves have been swept, brambles cleared and tons of medlars picked. The cheese I made last year was less than thrilling so now I have to think of something else to do with them - jelly possibly.
Wrecked now, a cup of tea and a sticky beckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.