Mr. James MacArthur

If there is a more lovely person on earth I can't imagine!

Whisky Festifal 2013 - Milano. What can I say... the first stand I decided to stop by today was that of Mr. MacArthur - in person!!! A great of greats in the world of whiskey IMHO. First sample was that of his 20 y,o. Bruichladdich - of infinite interest and taste.

As it happens, I spent several hours here at the whisky festival and came back to see Mr. MacArthur as promised at the end to pick up a couple of bottles of bru-ha-ha- just look at the list at the end, FANTASTIC!

This is the occasion of said portrait. We had a great conversation about the market, tasting and the makes of enjoying a great whisky, but I really can't account for much of it. I made the rounds to pay for the remainder of my "promises" and ended up with around 10 bottles of Scottish whisky... mostly either Islay or Speyside which are my current interests. Such a world of taste!!!!!

Good lord, help me. I love Scottish whisky. It would be stupid to start to explain the individual palates of the whiskies I bought tonight, but let's just say that #1 peaty whiskey is peaty whisky - long live peaty whisky! #2 after last year's festival and the Silver Seal's tasting - I now know that there is a world outside of peaty Islay whisky... not becuase I drove by here once at the strange hours of the night.... :) ...but becuase there is really a structure and philosophy to the individual tastes of the various regions.

HOLLAAH!! There we have it. I have given recognition to other whiskey provinces in Scotland. Here is tonight's list of acquisitions!

James MacArthur's =Old Master Bowmore 1997, bottled 2013, 16 y.o.
James MacArthur's =Old Master Alberlour 1989
James MacArthur's =Old Master Glenrothes 1988, bottled 2006
The Golden Cask = Caol Ila 1980, bottled 2011 #197 of 198!
Aldephi Selection Miltonduff 1982, bottled 2012, 30 y.o.
Aldephi Selection Tamdhu 1984, bottled 2011, 26 y.o.
Silver Seal Mortlach 1991, 21 Y.o.
Ardbeg Corryvrekan
Ardbeg Uigedadail
Kilchoman
Springbank 1996, bottled 2009, 12 y.o.o

PROST! and Cin-cin-

Or whatever is your favorite saluatation! bottoms up!!!

My apolgies to Silver Seal who I said I wanted to post tonight on my photo journal! You ARE still my favorite Italian importer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.